Article I. Name and Affiliation

Section 1. Name

The name of the Association shall be the Idaho Science Teachers Association.

Section 2. Affiliation

The Idaho Science Teachers Association shall be a State Chapter of the National Science Teachers Association.


Article II. Objectives

  1. To create an active interest in science.

  2. To encourage more effective science teaching at all levels of instruction in the schools and colleges in the State of Idaho.

  3. To promote research in the field of science teaching.

  4. To provide a medium for the exchange of views pertaining to the teaching of science.

  5. To promote a better rapport between the teachers of science and the teachers of other disciplines.


Article III. Structure of the Association

The Association shall be composed of the Executive Committee and the district units consisting of:

District 1. (Boundary, Bonner, Benewah, Kootenai, and Shoshone Counties)

District 2. (Latah, Clearwater, Idaho, Nez Perce, and Lewis Counties)

District 3. (Adams, Washington, Payette, Gem, Canyon, and Owyhee

District 4. (Blain, Camas, Gooding, Lincoln, Cassia, Minidoka, Twin Falls,
And Jerome Counties)

District 5. (Bear Lake, Franklin, Oneida, Power, Bannock, Caribou, and part
of Bingham Counties)

District 6. (Clark, Fremont, Lemhi, Custer, Butte, Teton, Madison, Jefferson,
Bonneville, and the balance of Bingham Counties)

District 7. (Valley, Boise, Ada, and Elmore Counties)

Article IV. Membership

Section 1. Eligibility for Membership

Any person who is actively interested in the teaching of science in the State of
Idaho is eligible for membership in the Association.

Section 2. Privileges

Members of the Association in good standing shall be entitled to hold office, to vote, to receive notices of meetings, and to receive such publications as the Association may issue. Attendance at conferences is at a reduced rate for said members.

Section 3. Dues

The annual dues shall be determined by the board and the dues year shall be from annual meeting to annual meeting.

Article V. Officers

Section 1. Titles

The officers of this Association shall be: Previous Past President, Immediate Past President, President, President-Elect, Secretary/Communications Coordinator, Executive Secretary, Regional Representatives, Elementary Division Representative, and Higher Education Representative.

Section 2. Qualifications

Each officer of the corporation must be a current or former science educator. Each officer may hold office until a successor shall be duly elected and qualified.

Section 3. Election of Officers

District Representatives from odd-numbered districts shall be elected on odd-numbered years and District Representatives from even-numbered districts shall be elected on even-numbered years. All other officers shall be elected for a term of one year.

The Secretary/Communications Coordinator and Elementary Representatives shall be elected on odd-numbered years, and Higher Education Representative will be elected on even-number years.

Section 4. Installation of Officers

Officers shall be installed at the annual meeting.

Section 5. Terms of Office

The President-Elect shall serve a term of one year before becoming President. President, Past President, and Immediate Past President shall serve a term of one year. The Secretary/Communications Coordinator, District, Elementary, and Higher Education Representatives, shall be elected for a term of two (2) years. All other officers shall be elected for a term of one (1) year.

Section 6. Vacancies

Any vacancies in the Executive Committee shall be filled by appointment by the
Executive Committee.

Article VI. Nominating Committee

Section 1. Annual Meetings

The nominating committee shall consist of the officers of the Association and
shall be chaired by the President-Elect.

Section 2. District Meetings

District meetings may be called by the Executive Committee or the district
representatives or the request of a simple majority of the membership in said
district. Members must be notified by mail of special meetings at least one week
prior to the meeting.

Article VII. Committees

Section 1. Executive Committee

The Executive Committee shall consist of the President, President-Elect, Previous Past-President, Immediate Past President, Secretary/Communications Coordinator, District Representatives, Elementary and Higher Education Representatives and Executive Secretary.

Section 2. Membership Committee

It shall be the duty of the membership committee to bring the purposes and
advantages of membership in the Idaho Science Teachers Association to the
attention of science teachers and to enlist their support in furthering the programs
of the Association.

Section 3. Auditing Committee

A complete budget of the year shall be presented annually. An internal audit shall be performed annually. Audits are open at any time upon request of the membership or committee.

Section 4. Other Committees

The President shall appoint such other committees as the work of the
Association shall demand.

Article VIII. Voting

Section 1. Method

Balloting shall be by ballot or acclimation at the annual membership meeting, or by mail as determined by the Executive Committee.

Section 2. Procedure for Balloting

Ballots shall be distributed to all members in good standing, and, if by mail, shall
shall carry a return due date.

Section 3. Counting the Ballots

A ballot committee of three shall be appointed by the President to count the ballots. A simple majority will constitute an election or approval.


Article IX. Amendments

Section 1. Initiation of Amendments

Proposed amendments may be initiated by the Executive Committee or by any
one of the districts.

Section 2. Voting

This constitution may be amended by a two-thirds vote of the ballots cast
according to the voting procedure of this Association.


Board approved 1/13